Perhaps They Will Drown In Words? (WARNING possible triggers)

“I can’t drown my demons, they know how to swim.”… words posted on Facebook today.  Knowing the person who posted it I would be willing to bet they are song lyrics, but for me it is reality.  And I am so tired of pushing them under the water only to have them pop to the surface again and again and again…  Perhaps today I can write a few of them away.  Expose their evil to the world leaving them a little weaker.  Giving me more strength to hide behind the mask one more day.  Maybe leaving a small legacy behind if the demons should finally win someday…

 

The demons scar my mind

with thoughts of worthlessness

with feelings of abandonment

with fears of isolation.

 

The demons control my days

filled with tears

filled with pain

filled with exhaustion.

 

The demons ruin my future

taking away friends

taking away faith

taking away hope.

 

The demons must be stopped

before I erode

before I vanish

before I die.

 

(Mental illness is a serious disease.  I am seeking medical help and trying new things all the time to find a brighter future for me and my family.  I strongly suggest anyone who has depression to get help.  NO ONE is ever alone.. call someone, talk to others, get help.  There is always someone available 24/7 at the national suicide hotline and limited hours with their online chat as well.  1-800-273-8255 and www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org Don’t let the demons win.)

1 thought on “Perhaps They Will Drown In Words? (WARNING possible triggers)”

  1. A very honest poem 🙂 Keep strong. We should have AA for suicidals, at least then we’d know there were other people going through the same thing.
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

