Daily Prompt: Moon

via Daily Prompt: Moon

I wish I had a good picture of the moon… my camera is not that good though.  Last night my friend and I talked about how pretty the moon was as we went to dinner.  If it wasn’t a full moon it was sure close.  And why is it that is always looks so much bigger on the horizon than up above (I know, science and stuff right)?

People seem to be in love with the moon at times.  Just look at how many songs have lovers under a moon.  And it plays well in poetry setting a mood of romantic tones or even dark terror.  But my favorite use of the moon goes back a few years and was unfortunately lost recently.

My ex-husband did a lot of video taping of our daughter as she grew up.  Around the age of two she fell in love with the moon.  We had a tape of her talking so fast about, “The moon, the moon, moon, moon, moon!” that would always bring a smile.  Sadly when her dad passed away recently the DVD got overlooked and lost in the clean up.  But I will always remember the wide-eyed innocence and excitement my little one had for the light in the sky each night.

I still point out the moon to her some nights, but at nearly 22 it does not have that new discovery affect it did when she was so young.  It is nice to be able to look into the sky at night though and remember the wonders of childhood through the magic of her eyes.  Keep your mind young… really notice the moon or the first star at night.  Repeat the childhood rhyme of “Star light, star bright, first star I see tonight…” and make a wish.  The magic may just still be there.  (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

