Day 23 – The Willow

I have tried to find a way to express the fond memories I have been reliving today thanks to the daily word prompt, but cannot get it down in a poetic flow today.  So I am combining the daily prompt with my 100 Days of Happiness today.

Growing up we would travel the 3 hours every summer to spend time with out grandparents.  They had an amazing house that they actually built themselves, including digging the ground for the basement.  But I remember many summers in the front yard playing next to a beautiful weeping willow tree.

We would run through a sprinkler and seek shade under the willow.  It would be the home base for a game of tag.  The tree was even a guard of sorts that protected us from the busy corner of the street it was on.  It became the out-of-bounds area for throwing frisbees to however many family members we could get to play.   It was also the perfect back drop for some family pictures through the years.

Every time I see a weeping willow my mind goes back to that special one in my youth I will always think fondly of.  No weeping tonight, only gentle smiles from memories recalled.

2 thoughts on “Day 23 – The Willow”

Leave a Reply

