Day 24 – 100 Days of Happiness

Today’s happiness was a sigh of relief. I have a vivid imagination…which in turn means when I worry I can cook up a million terrifying scenarios as to the outcome of a situation.  My best friend went silent a little over a week ago and my mind went wild.

My friend and I have kept in close contact for a while now… usually at least 3 or 4 times a week we will text each other, if not talk too.  After the third text was not replied to my mind went into overdrive.  I had every horror scene playing through my thoughts.  I believe I called 4 times at different hours to try to find him, but each call went straight to voicemail.

I tried to calm myself reminding me that he said he cracked his phone screen… maybe it is his phone is out of commission, or maybe he met a bear on a mountain trail?  Do you see how my brain works with the worry… I credit my mom for a lot of it.  She was a first class worrier too.

But today the imagination was shut down by the vibration of my cell phone.  My friend called and I no longer could blame the evil clowns for his demise.  He was fine, although has a cold.  It was his phone was broken and had to wait for payday to get it fixed.  You know… that makes sense.  The worst case scenarios can be tucked away for now, until the next thing happens to make my mind wander…

2 thoughts on “Day 24 – 100 Days of Happiness”

  1. perhaps you can stop to listen to your mind? Ignore the coming thoughts. I’ve heard once somebody saying what he does in such situations – he says to his mind: “the shop is closed. come back another time” 😀

Leave a Reply

