Day 35 – 100 Days of Happiness

This day… it holds mixed emotions for me.  Growing up my Mom always made a very big deal about birthdays.  I still miss her on my birthday.  Plus her birthday is just less than 2 weeks away… hard to believe she has been gone for 6 years.  Hard to believe I made it to today.

I was told 13 years ago I had breast cancer.  So in light of having what is too often a death sentence I survived.  And am glad to say I am another year older.  I just am not too sure about this year.  I have no problems saying I just turned 50, I have problems being 50 with very little to show for it in the midst of my battle for disability.  I never thought I would be here so soon.

But today is about happiness.  That extra year I have survived.  The wonderful memories of birthdays of the past.  And making memories of new.  Today was a nice day… had dinner with my boyfriend and daughter at a local Mexican restaurant – the fried ice cream for dessert is sinful!  Then we came home and played a card game.  It is moments together with family that give me the most happiness.  And lucky me I get to do it all over again next week when the rest of the family can get together with me and wish me a happy (this is from my older sister) half a century.

The candles have been blown out and the games put away.  I may not have the youth I wished to hang on to, but I have the greatest gifts – life, love and family.  (((HUGS)))

3 thoughts on “Day 35 – 100 Days of Happiness”

  1. Happy Birthday 🎉🎉I get you totally, it’s all about spending time with family and friends. I also have bitter sweet birthdays where I miss my mum, she who makes our childhood birthdays so special x

  2. It sound like you’re a strong woman and celebrating your life is awesome! Happy birthday! Btw: the views are beautiful on this side of the hill! : )

Leave a Reply

