Day 75 – 100 Days of Happiness

It was a drizzly rain that lasted all day yesterday.  Temperatures in the low fifties so the rain felt like a chill to the bone.  Rain always makes me ache, cold always makes me ache, but the weather was not going to put a damper on the day.

I met my daughter for a nice breakfast at Perkins.  Fueled up on french toast and coffee we set out for our destination in the rain.  We made it into the “big city” and didn’t get lost once (thank you Google GPS).  We had arrived at the civic center.

It was the day the two of us had been waiting for, for a long time.  We were going to see the live stage production of the musical Rent.  It was a Saturday matinée and I was sad to see there were empty seats left for this 20th anniversary show.  But it was AMAZING!

rent-11-27-16

The subtle differences between the movie and the stage production were obvious but not distracting at all.  I loved the way they staged the multi character scenes.  The voices were magnificent.  All the actors did a fantastic job!

Now my daughter and I have seen four different Broadway show here on the small stages in Iowa.  We have seen Cats, Wicked, Beauty and the Beast and now Rent.  I can’t wait for the next show to add to our list… would love for it to be The Color Purple when it starts to tour!

Today I have memories and a new tour shirt to wear … yesterday was definitely a day of happiness in spite of the weather!  Now off to today’s moments of happiness.

2 thoughts on “Day 75 – 100 Days of Happiness”

  1. I love watching shows – usually with my mum and/or son. We went to see Billy Elliot in Edinburgh recently and I was amazing. I saw Rent on my honeymoon years ago and it was fab. Did you like Wicked? My mum fell asleep and my son was terrified of the Wizard! I thought it was quite good.

Leave a Reply

