In A Different League

I am trying something new.  One of the wonderful writers I follow has a writing prompt I am giving a try.  It is a ten word challenge and I think I accomplished something reasonably coherent from the blend of all the words.  Not quite my usual style, but it is a challenge after all.  Let me know what you think and join in the challenge if you would like.

This is the word list…

prompted8

And this is the original post – Sumyanna Writes

Here goes…

 

I manage a shy smile…

Inside I am giddy with excitement

But I am too scared to let it show

My heart is about to pop out of my chest

There is no doubt I am in awe of him

But I punish myself with words of failure

Sure he can only see the bad in me

And there is no hope for a future

In addition to my internal fears

There is a steady supply of women

Willing to trot in front of him and bat their eyes

Why would he want someone plain like me

I look away from his chiseled features

And that five o’clock shadow he never shaves

Sure he is way out of my league

I suddenly see a shadow cross the base of my table

I look up into heaven as he smiles down at me…

7 thoughts on “In A Different League”

  1. Wow. I really loved this. Amazing – I mean AhMAZING attempt at the prompt. So very glad you joined in. I think all women have known this feeling (and perhaps men as well, but that I could not say 🙂

Leave a Reply

