Day 89 – 100 Days of Happiness

Hard to believe today is only 2 weeks until Christmas.  Growing up we would start to decorate after Thanksgiving.  We had a big 7 or 8 ft artificial tree that would take us days to decorate.  The lights and ornaments were easy… it was the individual placement of the tinsel one strand at a time draped on one side of the branch all the way around to the other side.  I recall as kids me and my sister would get bored with decorating and Dad would end up doing a majority of it.  I am still not sure how Mom got out of doing much decorating.

Later on when I got married there was a new tradition to follow.  Since my then husband had his birthday on the 11th it was always his family’s way of making his birthday special by putting the tree up and decorating it that day.  We followed that for many years.  Now it is whenever my boyfriend has the day off.  Last year it was hard to get a time to get everyone together.  This year we have the tree up and lights on only waiting on the decorating until my daughter can get here to help.

Once the tree gets up I get a lot more into the spirit.  I now have Christmas music playing while I write this and the lights on the tree flash.  I have decided what to do with my Christmas card and hope to have most of them out by the end of the week.  I like the put letters or at least short notes in most of them.  Nothing better than getting a little good news in a letter instead of another bill showing up in the mail.

So tonight I sit in the wonder of the Christmas spirit… I love this time of year.  Not real wild about the crowds shopping, but the pretty decorations, the giving, the family together, the kids joy… it really is a magical time of year.  Do you have your tree up yet and does it take long to decorate it?

2 thoughts on “Day 89 – 100 Days of Happiness”

Leave a Reply

