12 Days of Christmas – Cards

I still remember as a kid growing up how we would have Christmas cards taped to the wall every December for display and decoration.  There would be ones that I would love to look at all the time.  I would study who they were from and try to remember just from looking at the outside of the card who had sent them.

As I grew up and was engaged and then married I began my own traditions with Christmas cards.  I began to do paper crafts and would make my own cards to begin with, until we had a beautiful daughter who would change the meaning of the family Christmas card.  When she was old enough we let her (well honestly some years it was more HAD her under protest) draw the artwork for the cards.  My husband would get the image printed onto cards and I would then stamp the greeting inside… a real family card.

20161217_000130

Once my daughter grew up and didn’t want to do the cards any more I went back to creating my own again.  I did this every year except when I was going through chemotherapy for breast cancer and just did not have the energy to do it.

This year I will once again pull out my list of about 50 cards to send out.  I have the parts and pieces gathered and I need to assemble them now and get them in the mail.  I must admit I have never been very punctual with arrival times but I figure if I get them in the mail before midnight on the 24th they are technically  on their way before Christmas.

Some years I have added letters or short notes to a majority of cards, but this year I know I am short on time and energy to get that job done.  I will be happy and proud of myself for still at least carrying on the tradition of the Christmas card.  It is a great way to keep in touch with those you don’t get to see very often.  Do you send or receive many cards?

1 thought on “12 Days of Christmas – Cards”

Leave a Reply

