12 Days of Christmas – Spirituality

This is a post I am kind of afraid to write, but know I have to include it as a part of what Christmas means to me.  First of all I chose spirituality instead of religious as I have never felt I was a religious person, but I am spiritual.  And I take my spirituality as something very private and personal, so that is why I am afraid to bare my soul.

The saying Jesus is the reason for the season comes to mind every year… and I do believe in God and Jesus’ birth (although I have heard more than one person say there is no evidence that it happened on December 25th).  I don’t really care when it happened… I care that we take this time of year to acknowledge His birth.  I put a star on my Christmas tree to represent the star that lit the way for the wise men.  I buy presents for those I love like the wise men brought presents to the baby Jesus.

20141224_154259

I also believe there is a certain spirituality in the story of Santa… children have to believe in order to get presents on Christmas Eve.  You have to take a little faith in miracle like behavior (visiting all children in one night all over the world, flying reindeer, knowing what the children want) to keep the magic of Santa alive for the children.

There is not a year that has gone by as a parent that I haven’t felt a great deal of awe at the magic of Christmas.  There is just a feeling I get… you know one of those warm and fuzzy moments you can’t really explain… when it is late at night, the house is quiet and all the gifts under the tree sit in the glow of the tree’s lights.  A feeling I get when I see a child, my own or others, open a gift and express pure joy.  A feeling when friends and family are all gathered together however briefly it may be when there is love all around the room… THAT is the feeling.  That is the feeling of spirituality at Christmas.  A greater presence in the room.  A love showering down on us all.

I believe in the spirituality of the holiday… of Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and any other celebration that brings together love and faith.  This is a magical time of year.  And I wish you all love, light and peace this Christmas season.

3 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas – Spirituality”

Leave a Reply

