Happy and Grateful – Day 4

I have undertaken a challenge this year.  I am trying to find the good in every day by writing about happiness and gratitude that I feel.  No matter how small there is always something to bring a smile or make you grateful, if just for a moment.  Follow along with me as I dig deep as necessary and find the peace of the day.  Join in if you are feeling happy and grateful too – in the comments or on your own blog.  Let’s find some fun!

Timing, fate, karma, a guardian angel… however you want to look at it, it came together for me.  I had another appointment out-of-town.  I dread the drive there, I dread the drive back.  The timing of this appointment put me right at the start of rush hour traffic on the way home.

I was almost out of the worst of it and headed to the highway for a straight shot home, when I looked into my rear-view mirror.  I happened to see a deer fly through the air and another one turn back around instead of crossing the road.  Just maybe two car lengths behind me was where this happened.  I had just missed being the one to face the deer head on.

I can gladly say I have never hit an animal with my car… in this area there are plenty of deer to contend with.  I have seen deer in many rural areas, but this was the first time in a very busy area of town I have seen deer.

Bottom line was I got lucky on the trip home.  It could have very easily been me in that spot at that moment they crossed the highway.  I am happy I do not have car damage that needs to be fixed, or injuries that need to heal.  And grateful my trip home was a safe one.

3 thoughts on “Happy and Grateful – Day 4”

Leave a Reply

