Happy and Grateful – Day 16

I have undertaken a challenge this year.  I am trying to find the good in every day by writing about happiness and gratitude that I feel.  No matter how small there is always something to bring a smile or make you grateful, if just for a moment.  Follow along with me as I dig deep as necessary and find the peace of the day.  Join in if you are feeling happy and grateful too – in the comments or on your own blog.  Let’s find some fun!

I live in the Midwest… we get every kind of weather except hurricanes.  We are having a bit warmer winter right now.  That may sound like a nice thing but that means ice instead of snow.  I recall winters as a kid where we would build tunnels through the snow it was piled so high… not this year.  We just had a big ice storm, actually a lot of the country saw ice.  I am not happy about what we got, but what we didn’t get.  No wind to pull down heavy ice-covered trees and power lines.  And it was not thick ice.  Now we are looking for temperatures near 50°F later this week… certainly not a “normal” winter.

I am happy we came out of this storm with no damage in the area.  There were no accidents for the people I know.  And nobody I know ended up falling on the ice.  I am grateful I didn’t have to go anywhere once the freezing rain began.  In fact most of the ice is off the roads now before I have to go out.  Mild temperatures are good for clearing the roads quickly at least.

2 thoughts on “Happy and Grateful – Day 16”

Leave a Reply

