Happy and Grateful – Day 24

I have undertaken a challenge this year.  I am trying to find the good in every day by writing about happiness and gratitude that I feel.  No matter how small there is always something to bring a smile or make you grateful, if just for a moment.  Follow along with me as I dig deep as necessary and find the peace of the day.  Join in if you are feeling happy and grateful too – in the comments or on your own blog.  Let’s find some fun!

Trying new things is something that I need to do more of.  Anxiety often keeps me from branching out to do this.  Of all things to be anxious about tonight it was walking into an unfamiliar place.  A new restaurant opened close by about a month ago and my boyfriend wanted to try it out tonight.  Sometimes I have enough social anxiety a crowded restaurant is hard to walk into… make it one I am new to and it is worse.  I did some coping mechanisms – deep breathing, concentrating really hard on just our table, not the whole place, and reminding myself I was safe and close to home if there was a big problem.

I made it through dinner ok.  It got better after a lot of the dinner rush was over and the place emptied out a bit.  The food was really good and reasonably priced.  The restaurant had a nice sports bar type atmosphere and was playing some college basketball while we were there.

I don’t understand how I can get so worked up about something so simple as a dinner out, but I do sometimes.  The thing to remember is I made it through ok in the past and I WILL do so again in the future no matter how much anxiety I have.  I am happy we tried something new tonight,  I am grateful I was able to get through it without an anxiety attack that only would have made things worse.

Leave a Reply

