Happy and Grateful – Day 40

This is February and I am well on my way to attaining a goal I set for myself.  I am trying to post every day with happiness and gratitude that I have encountered that day.  There is always something no matter how small it may seem that we can be grateful for and even just a shared smile can make you happy if only for a moment.  Please try to find those moments for yourself too…  if you’re up to it I would love if you would share them too in the comments or your own blog.  Being aware can really turn a day around!

The fatigue got the best of me for the first half of the day.  I was so exhausted I talked to my therapist about it today and he mentioned a few things I had and some I hadn’t heard before to combat “normal” tiredness.  He did tell me he thought with the long week I have had my body was just needing some extra sleep to recover a little.

First thing is move.  I have heard that before and it works fine on those days the stiffness and pain from the fibro isn’t too bad.  Next is get some light… natural light being the best.  And he said to try cold… put a wash cloth with cold water on it on the back of my neck.  I have also heard a glass of cold water is more effective than a cup of coffee.  Or a nice crisp apple to eat first thing will wake you up.  I guess it gives me more options of things to try when I am just absolutely wiped out.  I am grateful he took the time to talk about my sleep with me.  I am happy I have such a good doctor that does not stay with a strict plan to follow each time I am there and we can talk about anything.  Do you know about any “tricks” to stay awake when all your body wants to do is sleep?

Leave a Reply

