Happy and Grateful – Day 55

This is February and I am well on my way to attaining a goal I set for myself.  I am trying to post every day with happiness and gratitude that I have encountered that day.  There is always something no matter how small it may seem that we can be grateful for and even just a shared smile can make you happy if only for a moment.  Please try to find those moments for yourself too…  if you’re up to it I would love if you would share them too in the comments or your own blog.  Being aware can really turn a day around!

I sit at the keyboard tonight with my nice warm sweatshirt on listening to the wind howl outside.  At least the snow has stopped now.  We didn’t do too bad here, only about 3 inches and a lot of that melted on the roads.  Places north of us got 8 to 13 inches plus the winds for reduced visibility.  This was a good day to stay inside and listed to a little music, which is exactly what I did most of the afternoon, while I read posts on WordPress and went through my daily email.

I am still listening to a little music even tonight.  I have Austin City Limits on for some background music.  Kind of makes me wish for a live concert… there is such an energy in a live performance that you just can’t get off a radio or digital player.  But alas there are no upcoming shows I have the interest or the money to go see, so I just have my memories to relive.

Tonight I am happy to have lots of access to music everyday.  Music is such an important part of my life… wish I had even a pinkie’s worth of talent to actually perform music, but I never got any music lessons as a kid.  That is one thing I made sure to offer to my daughter.  And she picked up the flute for band and plays it really well.

I am grateful to my parents for they exposed me to all different types of music growing up and to this day as long as it is good music it really doesn’t matter what genre it is from I will listen to it.  So I will listen to some Asleep At The Wheel now on Austin City Limits and read some more posts.  Do you have open music tastes or do you tend to be more loyal to one genre of music?

2 thoughts on “Happy and Grateful – Day 55”

  1. I listen to a mixture of music and love to have it playing in the background. Classical; Folk; Indie; Pop; Soul… most things to be honest. I get a little agitated with some Jazz though!

Leave a Reply

