Happy and Grateful – Day 149

May has arrived and I hope it brings lots of Spring cheer with it.  I am in my fifth month now of taking time to acknowledge the things that make me happy and grateful every day… almost half way to my goal of a full year.  If you want to join in on this challenge please add your thoughts in the comments or start your own blog.  There is a lot to be happy and grateful for!

Today was a picture perfect day for a holiday.  Mild temperatures and lots of sunshine and blue skies.  We kept out traditional Memorial Day appointment with my Dad.  His house is right on the “big” parade route so we always wave to the veterans and dignitaries that take up half of the small town parade… a community band and the emergency vehicles of the town take up the other half LOL.  We can usually hear some of the ceremonies they have at the cemetery only 2 blocks away.  Then we have some breakfast pizza and donuts.  It is a nice way to spend the morning.  I know my Dad really appreciates the company on days like today.  It makes me happy to see him laugh and smile a little more.

The rest of the day was pretty laid back.  My boyfriend napped and I got closer to caught up on my email.  We had a nice dinner and I went and got some dinner for my Dad.  Then we had to deal with a little drama from my boyfriend’s ex-wife, but nothing that is new.  Still a little unsettling.  Makes me grateful we are in a pretty good place… at least I think we are.

All in all it was a nice holiday.  The only part I didn’t like is the part that gets to me every year and that is hearing the 21 gun salute at the cemetery for the fallen soldiers.  Chokes me up every time.  Now it is back to a “regular” week tomorrow.  Well as regular as it can be with a boyfriend who just dyed his hair purple… LOL.

Leave a Reply

