Happy and Grateful – Day 169

June brings warmer weather and the start of summer.  Hopefully it brings many ideas from my muse too.  I continue to write for my challenge to find the things that make me happy and grateful each day this year.  Please feel free to join me in this challenge with comments about your happiness and gratitude or start your own blog.  There is always something good to find in each day.

Today was Father’s Day… a time to celebrate and be happy.  Then how come most of the day I was fighting tears?  I had a lump in my throat I could not get rid of.  I had two father friends I texted wishes to and about cried just with the simple texts I sent…well I did tear up with one.  I am so sick of these days and not a damn thing I can do about them except ride the tide until I come out on the other side.  In the mean time I throw a mask on and try to pretend life is good the best I can.

Of course I did go to see my Dad today.  His light by the kitchen sink gave out recently so for the holiday we got him a new light with the installation included – it wasn’t too tough only two screws needed.  But it made Dad happy to have it done… and that made me happy (or as happy as I could get today).

Writing was my salvation today.  Whether it be texting a friend, writing a letter to a friend, or writing a couple of therapeutic poems… I was grateful for the words to flow today.  Offering me a connection, an escape and a form of therapy.  Now these final words close out the day with hope for a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

