Happy and Grateful – Day 197

July brings fireworks, picnics, pools and air conditioning. It is a time for those of us in the USA to celebrate our “birthday” and a personal time for me to celebrate life. It is hot and humid days and thunderstorms cooked up at night. I am continuing my challenge to find happiness and gratitude in every day. Join along in the comments or on your own blog. There is always good in every day.

This was another hot day… one in a long line in the forecast for the next week or more.  It is doing nothing for my mood or peace of mind.  I’ve been struggling with depression again and the light at the end of the tunnel feels so far away.  But I know that is just the negativity that comes with the depression.  I am trying to do all I can to at least keep a demeanor of being “ok.”

It was a day indoors again.  This time I did not leave the apartment at all today.  I just can’t tolerate the heat with the high humidity.  So it was a day of music for me.  I caught Purple Rain, The Temptations, and am currently watching/listening to Across The Universe on TV.  I am always grateful for the places that music can take me.  It can tap into the feel good emotions and help make a down day a little better.

My happy moment would have to be the time I spent writing today.  Poems, a letter and here on my blog.  It makes me feel a little more connected to the world.  It also helps me deal with the tough stuff by getting it out of my head.  I want to thank all of you that read my ramblings and don’t run and hide.  I have had enough friends do that in my life.

I am going to take my negative thoughts and work on another poem.  I may post it later.  I hope sleep comes soon… at least I am not thinking then.  Try to find your happiness every day… it is there no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

