Happy and Grateful – Day 208

July brings fireworks, picnics, pools and air conditioning.  It is a time for those of us in the USA to celebrate our “birthday” and a personal time for me to celebrate life.  It is hot and humid days and thunderstorms cooked up at night.  I am continuing my challenge to find happiness and gratitude in every day.  Join along in the comments or on your own blog.  There is always good in every day.

“I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date…”  Over 12 hours later I am finally posting, will you forgive me?  I had been going on only 4 hours of sleep and a 45 minute nap… that caught up with me and I went out in full light, TV on and still in my jeans and t-shirt.  So the fatigue captured me last night and I am still trying to catch up today.  Oops!

Yesterday was a beautiful day as is today.  There is still some humidity in the air, but the temperatures are much more manageable.  Now if we could just get some rain…

This post is all about kids.  Yesterday was Miracle Treat Day at many Dairy Queen’s across the country.  It was a day when all Blizzard Treats purchased would provide a dollar donation to The Children’s Miracle Network.  CMN is a network of hospitals that works with children and families of children facing disease and injury.

I took a tour of our CMN hospital here in Iowa once and got to see some of the benefits the funds had created for kids and families… things like specialized surgical equipment for smaller bodies, recreation equipment that is inclusive for those in wheelchairs, programs that focus on the well-being of the kids during treatments, and many more services.

As you know I have a daughter who I love with all my heart, she is healthy.  When she was little, a boy almost her same age was diagnosed with a rare bone cancer and not expected to live past the age of 12.  His mother worked with me.  I was so grateful that my daughter was healthy.  Incidentally that little boy is now a young man working in the nursing field… still monitoring his cancer, but doing well in remission.  He was helped by some of the things CMN donations provided.

Yearly Miracle Treat Day happens and I love ice cream.  So yearly my daughter and I buy Blizzards to support CMN in a small way.  I am still so grateful that I didn’t have to face the fear of a short life expectancy for her.  I am happy beyond words to help a cause I believe in every year in this way and other fund-raising events that take place.  And honestly the ice cream is so yummy! 🙂

Do you have a charity that is close to your heart, that makes you grateful, that you are happy to help on a regular basis?  Cherish those in your life who are well and be aware of how lucky they are.  Find your happiness every day!

Leave a Reply

