Happy and Grateful – Day 218

Seven months are gone now and surprisingly I am still plugging along with this challenge to post about my happiness and gratitude every day this year.  August brings the state fair here in Iowa and lots of heat and humidity.  It is the time to see the back to school shopping start with kids dreading it and parents loving it.  As I continue my challenge I hope you will take a minute to reflect on your day too.  You can even share your happiness and gratitude here in the comments or on your own blog.  There is good in every day!

Today was not one of my best days.  Felt I was fighting tears on more than one occasion.  Spent most of the day alone which didn’t help me any.  The worst thing about depression is not having any control over your mood.  I have read before “fake it until you make it”… but it has never been that easy for me.  Maybe I am just doing it wrong.

The evening did take an unusual turn when my boyfriend and I had a laugh or two when the Sy Fy Channel started to run Sharknado 5.  I guess that was my happy time of the night, making fun of the campy movie.  My boyfriend however was not entertained and didn’t make it through the whole movie when he got up and left the room.

Also tonight I was grateful to turn the air conditioner back on.  I didn’t sleep real well last night and there was not much breeze moving the air around today plus it was hotter than it had been forecasted… so I was grateful to get a little relief from the heat and humidity.  Now tonight I should sleep a little better.

Hopefully with a better nights sleep and a fresh start tomorrow will be easier for me.  It doesn’t help that I am a little upset with a friend who is snubbing me it seems.  The acronym I have heard is HALT … if you are Hungry Angry Lonely or Tired you should address those issues before you lash out.  And today I had 3 of the 4 covered… not a good time to deal with anything important.

I need to call it a night.  I hope you can find your happiness today and are grateful for something from your day.  Have a good day/night!

2 thoughts on “Happy and Grateful – Day 218”

  1. Ooooh !!!!
    I want to play I am not sure how I started receiving your daily events in my email but I just read the first one today and I really liked it I hope that makes you feel better and if you could please tell me how I can get in on this because I have a little depression problem going on also. along with TBI PTSD and epilepsy to name just a few anyway anyway thank you for the uplifting story of your life it makes me feel like there are other people out there who are having some of the same problems that I have some of the time have a great day Jeri

    1. You can sure play along! I started out last year with a 100 day happiness challenge – just find that one thing that even made you slightly happy for the day. Then when that ended it was close to the new year and I chose to add gratitude and make it a year long effort. Some days I am not sure I can make it. But I keep plugging along. Set a goal that is not too far out of reach and just write! I hope you find lots of happiness! Thank you Jeri!

Leave a Reply

