Merrily We Roll Along

Trying something new this week. There is a weekly challenge over at The Sound of One Hand Typing called Writer’s Workshop where a list of prompts is given each week to be done on Thursday (or there about). Of the six prompt choices, I chose number three this week…

“Tell us about a something (e.g. a toy) that you wanted as a child (for Christmas or your birthday), but never received.”

This is easy for me. There was one thing I always wanted that I unfortunately never got and fear it would be far too late in life now… a keyboard/piano and lessons.

Ever since I was old enough to go to my grandparents’ house and reach the keys, I wanted to play the piano. Of course, like most kids I would make up “songs” and just play random keys. I never learned to read music, but I did teach myself a couple of songs with some help from my grandma and “easy to play” music books.

Unfortunately, my sister got the guitar she was asking for when she was growing up. She started out great but began to slack off with practice and then getting to lessons became less of a priority. It all ended up in a guitar that only gathered dust.

Naturally when I asked about the piano and lessons that experience with my older sister came to light. Since she didn’t stick with it, my parents thought I wouldn’t either, so no lessons. I was heartbroken. I still asked from time to time and would always visit the piano on trips to my grandparents’ house, but I never did get my wish.

I don’t know, maybe it is not too late to teach this old dog a new trick. Maybe I could find a reasonable priced keyboard and take some late life lessons. Have you ever missed out on something because of how a sibling handled the situation?

*****

Image AI generated with Ideogram

2 thoughts on “Merrily We Roll Along”

Leave a comment