Go Daddy-O

A patriarch is the head of the family, the dad, the father, papa, pa, or at least that is how it used to be.  Now a days it is a little more coparenting than there was in the past.  And you even see fathers with custody of children.  In my home growing up it was a little different.

Mom was the one in charge for the most part.  Although she would often threaten with, “Wait until your father hears about this.”  Dad was more the silent type, so when he talked, you would listen.  I have gathered a few things here related to the patriarch in the family…

“It’s a terrible thing being a patriarch.  I don’t even have a grey beard.  But people keep calling me up for advice.”  Pete Seeger

“My father was my teacher.  But most importantly he was a great man.”  Beau Bridges

“My father had a profound influence on me.  He was a lunatic.”  Spike Milligan (*a special note here, I am not saying my dad was crazy but he did have a great sense of humor that influenced me)

Dad loved BBVD… wish he’d been able to see them live.

Written for Fandango’s One-Word Challenge (FOWC) – patriarch

One thought on “Go Daddy-O”

Leave a comment