Mumbles … Restart

My life the last eight years has been about nothing but restarts and new beginnings. I lost my mom, went through a separation and divorce. Lived “on my own” for the first time in my life. Came to grips with my depression and anxiety. I discovered I had fibromyalgia. I had to face my inability to work. Found a new hope at love. And watched my daughter grow up and move out on her own. It has been a busy eight years.

The recurring theme has been if you don’t like the way the day is going, it is ok to start it over again at any point. I have tried to learn not to be so hard on myself (although I still often am) and just go with the flow a little more. Most things are not set in stone and you can always try again or turn around and try a different path.

I most recently restarted a busy day by taking 15 minutes to go to the park and watch the ice floes. Just a moment with the forces of nature gave me enough of a reset on the day that I was able to avoid a day going downhill. I watched the water and ice, listening to the sounds of the small spillway and felt refreshed.

Ice floes 2-28-18

Before my fibro I used to walk a couple of miles a day and take lots of outdoor photos trying to capture the freedom nature gave me. It was nice to take a few shots of the ice. But it was nicer to be able to see the day with a better perspective after a restart.

I even restarted my blog. I originally was here about 5 years ago, but never was consistent with my writing. Now after completing a daily challenge last year, I try to keep up daily or at least close to it. It is amazing what can come from a fresh start.

I hope you all have a wonderful night/day! (((HUGS)))

5 thoughts on “Mumbles … Restart”

  1. Here’s what I am working at telling myself everyday — “What have I got to lose?” “Who am I doing this for?” “On my death bed, would I regret not having done this or that?”. And I get up or out of any pain/hurt/negative energy and make myself happy.
    I like how you have picked yourself up each time something hits you. It’s really inspiring.

  2. First of all, I’m so glad you are around and blogging. I would have missed a lot. I have not been as active as I would like lately, but the kids are at a point where they really need me, so I won’t complain. I’m still here, just hidden sometimes. I miss taking time for me, but I also enjoy being an influential part of an important time in their lives. Sounds like you’ve been through a lot, but you keep fighting forward. I know it’s not easy… but I am glad to see you keep finding ways to celebrate your day. Man, can I say I miss your grateful posts? I hope you don’t mind that I say so, but I really enjoyed reading them. I know… I haven’t been around much to read anything (still have not fixed the phone) but I am trying to get out more on the computer when I break free from the homeschooling kids 🙂

    1. So good to hear from you. I don’t mind at all you saying you miss my posts. I may revisit them in the future. Right now I am really behind in keeping up with reading posts and still getting my daily prompt posts out. I will certainly think about it. So glad you liked them! 🙂
      Your kids are lucky to have a mom that can spend so much time with them! How did the SATs go or is that still coming up?

Leave a comment